New Things

I can’t believe February is almost over!  However, I can’t wait for spring to arrive – green trees, flowers, grass, warmth!!!  As I have mentioned so many times, I hate winter! 

I wanted to share a few new things.  First – there is now lots of light in my craft room.  Son Brian, the electrician, and my husband installed these wonderful lights.  It is so much easier now to tell Real Red from Red Riding Hood!  Thank  you Brian and Norb!

IMG00230-20110221-1612

Now in order to install the lights, we had to clean off the work desks in the craft room.  As you will probably never see this again, BEHOLD:

IMG00228-20110221-1611

IMG00231-20110221-1615And for those of you who never wandered back to see my new floor, we’ve included a picture here.  This is much easier to clean than the carpet that had been in this room for years.  Many thanks to all my kids and my Mother for this wonderful Christmas present ,and to son Russ and son-in-law Bill for the installation.  It pays to have talented children!

Now, for some other new things – name stamps.  As you know, the theme for our March Stamp Camp is Mostly Male – A stamp camp dedicated to making manly greetingsMy first card is entitled simply Masculine Birthday and I’ve used 2 new stamps – one on each version of the card.

Airplane 3Several of you have asked to work with the metal sheeting that I have used on cards in the past that have been posted to this blog.  This masculine card uses metal sheeting sized to 4 X 2 3/4”  on the bottom and Basic Gray cs on the top.  I stamped the plane from my new set Plane and Simple (new Occasions Mini Catalog) in Basic Black on Whisper White, cut it out, and used Stampin’ Dimensionals for that “jumping off the page” effect.  I ran the metal sheeting through the Big Shot with the Square lattice embossing folder.  I punched out the cogs using my new Cogs punch.   The small red cog gives just a touch of color to this manly card.

Owl 2

This second version of Masculine Birthday is very similar to the first version, but here, we use the owl from my free set Punch Bunch.  This is one of the free sets you can receive by purchasing $50 in Stampin’ Up merchandise.  I stamped the own in black on Whisper White and punched him out with the Two-step Owl Punch.  Instead of adding a red cog, I punched out a red vest for Mr. Owl to add that touch of color.  On both cards, I ran a piece of 5/8” grosgrain ribbon across the joining point of the metal sheeting and the Basic Gray cs.  This is definitely a manly card!

 

Check in tomorrow to preview more masculine cards for our Mostly Male Stamp Camp which will be held on Friday March 4th from 3 – 9 PM and Saturday March 5th from 9 AM – 4 PM.  We will be crafting 4 masculine cards this month.  Debbie is going to teach us the mirror image technique and we are also going to do wet embossing.  We’re using the wide 1 1/4” striped grosgrain ribbon on two of the cards – I love this wide ribbon – and we will also be using multiple brads on our Party Hearty card.  The cost for the March camp will be $10.00.  If you can, let me know if you will be attending so we have plenty of card stock cut.  See you tomorrow with more cards,,,,

Leave a Reply

