More Birds, Blossoms and Butterflies

Today was a 14-hour day at work and I am tired.  As I was closing up my desk around 7 PM, I printed up my calendar for Tuesday, and discovered that a report I thought I was presenting on Wednesday was actually to be presented tomorrow.  Needless to say, I kept working.  As I told my husband, “I really earned my salary today!”   No time for a pity party, so let’s look at the last 2 project for our Birds, Blossoms and Butterflies Stamp Camp that is just around the corner.

Friend 24-7Friends 24-7 is a whimsical card featuring a bird with a bit of bling.  The color scheme is one of my favorites – Marina Mist (textured) and Crumb Cake.  We’ve stamped several images on the Elegant Soiree DSP which increases the interest factor in the focal point.  The touch of Newsprint DSP is a bit of whimsy and the friends image could easily be replaced with another message.  This card could easily be used for either gender, as a  birthday, thinking of you, anniversary or other celebration. 

Pillow BoxOur final project is a pillow box done – again – in Marina Mist and Crumb Cake.  I actually CAS’d the box and Friends 24-7 from one of the monthly Stampin’ Success magazines.  I thought both projects were too cute and just waiting to be shared!  I’ve filled my pillow box with chocolates (no – I have not eaten ANY).  The box is quite simple as we are using the Stampin’ Up Pillow Box die from Sizzix.  After the cs has been die cut, we will stamp it with the Woodgrain background stamp in Marina Mist.   A bit of Sticky Strip is used to adhere the sides securely and then we just punch our little double petal card, run it through the big shot to add some embossing, punch 3 holes and we are almost done.  Natural hemp twine does double duty as it  ties our box shut and also holds our card in place!  This would be a fun project to vary with different background stamps and other embossing on the tiny envelope.  The box would look sharp in red and white for Christmas or Valentines Day and is perfect for holding a bit of candy or other small treat.

That wraps up Birds, Blossoms and Butterflies, I hope you can join us on May 6th (3 PM – 9 PM) and/or May 7th (9 AM – ???).  I am guesstimating 2 1/2 hours MAX for all 5 projects or longer if you want to visit and share a couple laughs – I promise not to sing.  The cost is $12 and as always, all the cs will be cut and scored, and envelopes provided.  Water and soda pop are always in the fridge so all you have to bring is YOU!  Give me a call if you have any questions (630.759.3089) or drop me a line at paperrose01@aol.com.  It helps to know if you are coming so Deb and I don’t cut too much paper, but advance notice is not required. 

Also check out the 30% off select stamp sets in celebration of National Scrapbooking month!  This is a limited-time opportunity from now until the end of May.  Sets on sale include:

Party Hearty – # 111532 – $18.87 – found on page 54 in the 2010-2011 Idea Book & Catalog (Also available in French)

Grunge Rock – $14.67 in Wood, $11.17 in Clear – Page 87

Animal Stories – $11.17 in Wood – Page 94

 Printed Petals – $13.97 in Wood, $10.47 in Clear – Page 106

Simple Friendship – $18.17 in Wood – Page 108

Word Play – $29.37 in wood, $20,27 in Clear – Page 147

Sweet Shoppe Alphabet Lower – $ 22.37 in Wood, $16.77 in Clear – Page 162

Let me know if you want to take advantage of this fantastic sale!  See you this weekend!  Take care, Rosemary

Leave a Reply

