Washi Tape, Flower Shop & a Bit of Grunge

Wow!  What a title for a card!  However, that is what is on our last September Stamp Camp card – some Washi Tape, blossoms from the Flower Shop stamp set and some spritzed grunge.

Washi 1I will admit I was very leery about ordering the Washi Tape shown in the 2013-2014 Stamping Up Catalogue.  The Washi Tape that was shown on cards in the catalogue was roughly torn, and often just used to tape some card stock on a card.  I simply did not like it!  Actually, I discovered what I didn’t like was how it was used – I have come to love the product itself.  Washi Tape is repositionable, inexpensive, and quite easy to work with.  I’ve used the Gingham Gardens Washi Tape in the corners of the two cards noted here. – opposite the “grunge” corner.  I laid each piece of  tape right up against the previous piece Washi 2and wrapped the ends easily around the edge of the card stock.  Actually, I am ahead of myself!  My first step was to add the “grunge” – spritzing color in one corner of the envelope.  I used Island Indigo as my main color and added either daffodil or Melon Mambo.  Then I added the Washi tape.  The final step was to stamp 4 Flower Shop images in Island Indigo and punch them out with the matching punch.  There are six flowers to choose from but all have the same overall shape and work with the coordinating Pansy Punch.  I doubled up the center flower to give the two-dimensional look..  I stamped “my friend” from the Six-Sided Sampler stamp set and die cut it with the Bitty Banners framelits set.  A matching die cut shape in either Melon Mambo or Daffodil carries the color through.  As you can see, the card can be done in either the horizontal or vertical view.  Although you can’t see from the photos, the 3 flowers in the top view have pearls in the floral center; tiny drops of Crystal Effects were added to the centers of the bottom flowers.  Finally, I die cut the Gingham Garden envelope liner – I love the new Envelope Liner Framelits!  The top card view actually has a tiny corner piece of DSP that matches the envelope liner. 

This is our final card for the September Stamp Camp – Summer Flowers, plus touch of Christmas with our embossed poinsettia.  I hope you can come.  The cost is $12 for the 5-card stamp camp.  There are 4 dates being offered:  Thursday September 5th from 2 to 9 PM, Friday September 6th from 2 to 9 PM, Saturday September 7th from 9 AM to 3 PM, and Saturday September 14th from 9 AM to 3 PM. As I have mentioned, the September 14th stamp camp is being held as several Saturday stampers are tied up on the 7th. If you plan on coming on the 14th, please let me know as soon as you can. If you know which day you will be attending, it is a help – but not a necessity. I always look forward to seeing you!

Mark your calendars now for our October Stamp Camp – Thursday, Friday and Saturday – October 3, 4, 5.  I am not 100% sure what cards we will be creating – 2 Christmas cards for sure, and possibly a Halloween spinner card plus another Halloween/fall card.  I have so many ideas that it is hard to narrow it down to 4 or 5 cards!  We will be doing a dryer sheet card at the October Stamp Camp – but I am not sure if we will consider it fall or Christmas – it depends on the colors we go with.

Blessings, Rosemary – 630/759-3089 – paperrose01@aol.com

Leave a Reply

