EASTER GARDEN

I’m sure not one of my readers has a garden that looks like this!  However, this card gives us hope for the months ahead!

2016-02-28 2016-02-28 001 002I have 3 different cards of the Corner Garden stamp to share with you today.  This was my second attempt.  With my first coloring, I tried to cover up some areas where my color had seeped out of the image outline.  The result was not pleasant.  I decided that when the card recipient sees a bit of color outside the outline, they can better appreciate the love spent hand coloring the garden. A well placed butterfly also helps!  I used Spectrum Noir markers for the coloring.  At least 2 shades were used on each flower in my blending attempt.  If you have markers at home, you might choose to start this card at our March Stamp Camp, and finish it at home.  My suggestion would be to at least use the coral Spectrum Noir markers (CR 7, CR9) as they pull thru the Calypso Coral card color.

2016-02-28 2016-02-28 001 001This card was coloring #3.  I lightened the blue of my morning glories and added a third yellow tone to my Brown-Eyed Susan.  I was not particularly pleased with the center of my pinky rose.  I used the Wink of Stella Glitter Brush on the flower centers of this card.  In my humble opinion, the touch of glimmer enhances of flower images and the viewer will spend a few seconds longer admiring the card with this added touch.  This is, of course, a personal preference.  See the little butterfly at the edge of the rose?  It is covering one of my “oops” out of the outline coloring. Note the use of the triple punch in the upper right corner of the card  – a little touch to add interest..   Let’s look at the 4th coloring below.

 

2016-02-28 2016-02-28 001 003This is my 22 minute coloring card – yes, I actually timed myself.  I planned my colors first using only 1 color per flower.  There was no blending which made the coloring much faster.  I also kept myself totally focused on the coloring which helped.  I added Wink of Stella sparingly and again used a butterfly to cover my major “oops!”  The entire card took me about 40 minutes which included finding the butterfly, finding my message, etc.  My goal is to have your messages pre-stamped and punched, butterflies die cut, and the message backgrounds pre-punched.  Each card also notes which markers were used.

However, if you feel this is not a card you wish to tackle, please let me know as soon as possible which card you wish to do 2 of instead of the Corner Garden card above.  We have the Little Bunny card, the Spring Wreath card, and the uber easy Sunburst card.  I will be adding these blog posts very shortly.

I sincerely hope you can come to our March Stamp Camp.  Cost is $12 which includes all supplies and tools.  Dates/times are as follows:  Thursday, March 3rd from 12 Noon to 9 PM; Friday, March 4th from 2 PM to 9 PM; and Saturday from 9 AM to 4 PM.  If you can let me know if you are coming, and what day/time works for you, it helps me in planning.  However, if you decide at the last second to drop by, I always have extra card kits ready.

Don’t forget to check back for the rest of the cards and let me know if you wish to substitute one of them for the beautiful Corner Garden card above.

Blessings, Rosemary – home 630/759-3089 – cell 630/965-1965 – paperrose01@aol.com

Leave a Reply

