DSP QUICK CARD

In my search for a quick and easy “manly” card, I reached out to 2 of my Designer Series Paper Stacks – Going Places and Go Wild.  I love the stacks – 48 sheets; 4 each of 12 double sided designs in a 6” X 6” size.  The price for these stacks in the new book is $10 which equates to $0.208 per sheet – you can make a quick and easy card AND keep the cost down!  The front and back usually coordinate which makes a DSP card very simple. 

2016.05.23 DSP card

The two samples above use 1 – 6” X 6” DSP trimmed to 5 1/4” on 1 side with a 1 1/4” strip  cut, and the remaining piece trimmed to 4”.  I use the boldest side for my 1 1/4 X 5 1/4 strip, and the side with the least contrast for the 4 X 5 1/4 piece.  As you can see above, I chose a black card which coordinated with both patterns.  I used Lost Lagoon on the Father’s Day card to border both the black and white center strip and the sentiment scallop circle.  Pretty quick and easy!!!  For the birthday card, I chose Tip Top Taupe for the center strip trim and die cut black for the sentiment scallop border.  I added die cut feathers in black and taupe and adhered them with a small Tip Top Taupe Thick Baker’s Twine bow.  An assortment of 6”X6” sheets have been pulled from the 2 DSP stacks we will be using.  If you don’t find one you like, you can look thru the stacks for one that you prefer.  The DSP will need to be trimmed to size – either by you or me.  You will choose the trim color cs, sentiment, and message.  Your card will be a true original!

2016.05.23 DSP card inside 2The message layer for the birthday card also features a feather but remains relatively simple,  quick and easy. 

Of course The quick and easy DSP cards don’t have to be “manly.”  Check out the graduation card below for our niece.  What I really like about these cards is that I don’t have to think really hard about what I am going to do.  I pull a 6X6 piece of DSP from a stack and cut away.  The thinking part comes into play with my sentiment layer on the front and the message layer inside as I like to make each card a bit different.  Make sure you check out the 3 DSP stacks available in the new catalog.  I absolutely love the Little Foxy DSP Stack which coordinates with the new Foxy Friends stamp set and the Fox Builder punch.  These 3 items are on my June 1st buy list!!!2016.05.23 DSP grad card

This is the feminine graduation card I previously referred to.  It is very simple and feminine.  6 rhinestones embellish the bold center strip, and a small punched flower and rhinestone add a touch of bling to the sentiment.  Thick Baker’s Twine adds texture and motion.  The sentiment is from the Class of 2015 stamp.  I used Washi Tape to mask off the 2015 for stamping, and die cut the 2016 numbers.  I’m using this sentiment for all my graduation cards this year. 

Remember to check out the Clearance Rack which changes weekly.  The Retiring Products, Clearance Rack and Occasions Catalog can all be pulled up from the Store Page

Looking forward to seeing you on June 2, 3 or 4!  2 more “manly” blogs to come!

Blessings, Rosemary – (h)630/759-3089 – (m)630/965-1965 – paperrose01@aol.com

Leave a Reply

