Best Birds

2016.07.16 Bird PeachI absolutely love the new Best Birds stamp set.  The thinlits die set – Birds and Blooms – is also available, and I splurged and bought the bundle at a 10 % savings.  I really like the background “grid” stamp and the effect it leaves.  I stamped the “grid” 3 times on all my Best Bird cards – once to the middle right, once above and slightly to the left, and once below heavily to the left.  I like the casual background versus a more formal one. Except for the yellow card, I stamped my bird and flowers in Memento Tuxedo Black and the branch in my favorite retired Mossy Meadow.  Spectrum Noir markers were used to color the bird, branch and flowers.  I pulled out a partial pack of retired crisp cantaloupe and felt it went well with the markers I chose.

2016.07.16 Bird YellowI will admit the yellow bird – or canary as my mother calls it – is my favorite.  The background is stamped in So Saffron and the card is Daffodil Delight.  I used the Happy Anniversary sentiment on all my Best Birds cards as we are seem to have many anniversaries in our family this summer.  The stamp set includes the Happy Anniversary image seen here as well as sentiments for birthday, thoughts, wedding and a favorite of mine – “It’s a good day.”  There is a second bird stamp in the set and also a tiny stem of berries.  I can see using this card for so many different occasions!

 

2016.07.16 Bird BluePerhaps you prefer a bluebird.  If so, this card is perfect for you!  Of course you can make your card in any color as Spectrum Noire has many different hues and Stampin’ Up has many different paper colors.  The 3 birds shown here were simply colors that blended well and matched SU card stock.  Before the pearls were added to the cards, the flowers, bird and leaves on the branch were brushed with Wink of Stella clear glimmer brush.  This bit of glimmer adds so much to the card.  I chose to back each bird layer with black cs that is just a tinge larger.  The addition of black allows the top layer to stand out.  This is a very simple card – stamp, color, die cut, adhere, embellish!  But only YOU can choose which color your bird will be.

As a reminder, August Stamp Camp is a week later this year – August 11, 12, and 13.  If you know which day you might be coming, it is helpful if you can let me know.  This, of course, is not a requirement.  The cost remains at $12.00 and includes everything you will need. 

Let me know if you have any questions!  Blessings, Rosemary – (h)630/759-3089 – (c)630/965-1965 – paperrose01@aol.com

2 Responses

  1. I absolutely love the bird cards. You did a great job. See you at stamp camp

  2. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

