Foxes and Birds

For our August Stamp Camp (August 11, 12, 13), we are going to feature nature – foxes and birds.  If you don’t like foxes, you can choose to make a cat, raccoon or skunk as shown below.

2016.07.16 Foxy Friend FoxFoxy Friends is a photopolymer set that is in the new SU catalog.  I chose to purchase the Foxy Friends punch which is used to make the 3-D animals.  The set also includes the cute trees, assorted mushrooms, paw prints and a tree stump.  I chose a color scheme of Calypso Coral, Pool Party and Smoky Slate.  The trees are die cut with the thinlits from the Perfect Pines set and the front tree is popped up with dimensionals..  The tree stump is fussy cut but no other fussy cutting is needed for the forest scene.

2016.07.16 Foxy Friend catCan you see the similarity between the cat and the fox?  Because I wanted the white outline for the fox and the cat, I actually stamped the full stamp twice and punched out the head of one image and the body of the other.  The tails were stamped separately.  There are several eye/nose combinations you can choose from, and of course the cute whisker face.  The animal is popped up with dimensionals.

2016.07.16 Foxy Friend RaccoonSee how easy it is to change from one animal to another.  We add a mask to the face, claws, and marks to the tail and BINGO – we have a raccoon! 

Have you noticed how each card  is finished differently?  I took the DSP with flags from the Little Foxy Designer Paper Stack and cut out the individual flags for this card. They are adhered with dimensionals and the Baker’s twine was added with a thin line of glue.  On the cat card, I adhered the thick Baker’s twine with glue to an entire row of flags before I used snipped them out.  The top card was finished with just Baker’s twine.  The placement of the forest scene on the card is dependent on how the card is finished.

2016.07.16 Foxy Friend SkunkFinally, the skunk.  He certainly doesn’t look very fierce.  Oops, I think I told a fib earlier!.  The white portion of the tail has been fussy cut – trace the punched black tail on white cs and cut it smaller!  It’s hard to believe that all these animals come from one punch! Since I made these cards, I’ve seen a cute dog and a mouse created from this simple punch!

What do  you think of these cuties?  You can choose the animal you want and finish the background as you choose.  August Stamp Camp is held a week later than normal as we are taking my 98 year-old mother to California to visit with her friends.  Our dates/times for August:  Thursday 8/11 from 12 noon to 9 PM, Friday 8/12 from 2 to 9 PM, and Saturday 8/13 from 9 AM to 4 PM.  It’s a great help in my preparation if I know in advance who is coming and what day.  I realize this is not always possible, but if you think you are coming, I would love if you would let me know.  I hate to precut paper that we don’t use.  The cost is our normal – $12.  We are also doing a darling die cut bird which will be on the next blog post, a beautiful Victorian angel Christmas card, and a swirly scribble card.

Let me know if you have any questions or concerns!

Blessings, Rosemary – (h)630/759-3089 – (c)630/965-1965 – paperrose01@aol.com

Leave a Reply

