Happy 2017

Hi Crafters!  For those of you who have been wondering if I had fallen off the face of the earth, I am happy to report I am alive and well.  I bet you have wondered why a Stampin’ Up Demonstrator would not send out Christmas cards to her favorite crafters!  Well…on December 8th, I was helping my 98 year-old mother put on a cardigan sweater.  I tripped on her feet and landed on the floor.  Mother reached down to help me, slipped out of her chair, and landed on her hip.  Off we went to Edwards Hospital with Mother and her now broken hip.  December 9th brought hip surgery and December 11th brought a snowy transfer to St. Patrick’s Residence in Naperville.  I was at St. Patrick’s daily until Mother was discharged the end of the month.  Although she is home now, she cannot walk independently and requires assistance with many of her activities of daily living.  So that, dear friends, is why you have not heard from me.  But life goes on, and Valentine’s Day will come in February whether we want it to or not.  So, the Flowers and Hearts Stamp Camp will be held on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday – February 2, 3 and 4.  I am changing the Thursday hours to 2 – 9 PM. Friday is also 2-9 PM.  If you need to come earlier on either of those days, please let me know.  Saturday remains the normal 9 AM – 4 PM. 

Now – on to Valentine’s Day.  I have chosen 4 stamp sets for our February projects.  They can be done either for Valentine’s Day or for another occasion.  I will have a sample for each. 

2017.01.15 Fiesta VD cardI absolutely love the Birthday Fiesta stamp set.  Perhaps because I was born in Tucson, I like the cacti and bright cheery colors.  I cas’d the layering colors and approximate sizes from another demonstrator but added the hearts, cactus, streamers and embossing.  The Fiesta Time Framelits Dies make cutting the llama, cacti, and flowers a cinch.  The colors of Melon Mambo, Crushed Curry, Emerald Envy Pumpkin Pie and Tempting Turquoise are bold and happy.  I punched assorted sized hearts in red glimmer and Melon Mambo,  Wink of Stella also provided a bit of pizzazz to the card.  But wait until you see the message layer!

 

2017.01.15 Fiesta VD MsgI very rarely put as much time into the sentiment layer as I did here, but I just love the cacti.  The Festive Birthday DSP provides lots of ideas.  I fell in love with the sheets featuring guitars, maracas, sombreros, peppers and piñatas.  I fussy cut the sombreros and maracas, punched a few red glimmer hearts and added a set of wiggly eyes.  Doesn’t this say Happy Valentine’s Day with a wonderful Western flair?

 

 

 

2017.01.15 Fiesta BD cardBut maybe you need a birthday card with a Western theme.  This sample replaces the hearts with flowers and candy dots.  The color scheme, layering and other objects remain the same.  Of course the message can be changed although the message used on the valentine sample would be appropriate.  Wink of Stella was used here and there to add a bit of glimmer and interest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2017.01.15 Fiesta BD MsgI grabbed a picture of the sentiment layer before I mounted it in the card – hence no Melon Mambo border.  Instead of 3 cacti, we have a llama, a piñata and a single cactus.  The sombrero and piñata were fussy cut from the Festive Birthday DSP.  The flowers were stamped and die cut.  Candy dots provide interesting flower centers and eyeballs for the cactus.  A bit of Wink of Stella was added at the end.

Well, what do you think?  Isn’t this a wonderful way to start out 2017 Stamp Camps?  Lots of color and cheer with a bit of added humor.  The next card will be from the new Beautiful You set found in the new Occasions catalog.  If you did not receive your catalog, please let me know.  I will have extras at the February Stamp Camp.  You can look online at Occasions Catalog January-May 2017

And don’t forget about Sale-A-Bration!!!  This is the time of year when you can get something FREE!  Here’s the deal: for every $50 USD/$60 CAD you spend (before tax and shipping), you get a FREE Sale-A-Bration product. That means it’s the perfect time to purchase those products you’ve had your eye on while earning more products for free.  If you did not receive your Sale-A-Bration catalog, you can pick one up at February Stamp Camp, or check it out at Sale-A-Bration January – March 2017.  Check out page 11 and the Designer Series Paper made for coloring, the Taco Truck on page 12, and the ever popular Hey Chick on page 17.  There are lots of other things, too.  So now is the time to order your paper, stamp sets, and other crafting products you want!  

Well, I had better get started on card #2.  If you plan on attending February Stamp Camp, let me know if you can.  And don’t forget to choose which cards you want to do.  My final ask is to let me know if you plan on coming in the 6-9 PM range on the Thursday or Friday time slots.  This helps me in planning the evening hours.

Blessings, Rosemary – (h)630/759-3089 – (c)30/965-1965 – paperrose01@aol.com

Leave a Reply

